Our pick: the Big Idea Design TPT Slide, a 1.0 oz Grade 5 titanium pocket tool with a 15-size wrench, bit holder and pry tip. Budget: CountyComm’s Titan War Claw, 0.35 oz of Grade 4 titanium. Most tools: Griffin Pocket Tool XL Titanium. Full-size pliers: no major maker sells a titanium-handled one now.
Titanium vs steel in one line: the same tool in titanium weighs 40โ50% less and won’t rust, but blades, bits and pliers jaws stay steel, because hardened steel holds an edge and a tip far better.
| Multi-tool | Best for | What’s titanium | Weight | Length | Blade? | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Idea Design TPT Slide | Best overall | Body (Grade 5); steel insert and screws | 1.0 oz | 3 in | No; takes a utility blade (not included) | Check price |
| Griffin Pocket Tool XL Titanium | Best for the most tools | Whole tool (grade not stated) | 33 g (1.2 oz) | 4.3 in | Knife tip, box opener | Check price |
| CountyComm Maratac Titan War Claw | Best budget | Whole tool (Grade 4) | 0.35 oz | 3.5 in | Serrated box-cutter edge | Maker’s store |
| Lynch Northwest All Access Pass v1.9 | Best made-in-USA pry bar | Bar and clip (Grade 5) | 1 oz | 4 in | No | Maker’s store |
| Big Idea Design Ti EDC Wrench | Best for nuts and bolts | Body (Grade 5); steel bits | 2.4 oz | 3.85 in | No | Check price |
| RovyVon U4 Pro+ | Best for your keys | Carabiner body; steel blade and bits | โ | โ | Yes, #11 scalpel blade | Check price |
| Gerber Shard | Best titanium look-alike | None: TiN coating on stainless steel | 1.0 oz | 3.5 in | No | Check price |
| BIBURY 24-in-1 Titanium (2048DT) | Best full-size pliers with titanium handles | Handles only (grade not stated) | 8.7 oz | โ | Yes, knife and saw | Check price |
Materials, weights and lengths from each maker’s product page, October 2026, as the maker states them. “โ” means the maker doesn’t publish it. CountyComm and Lynch Northwest buttons go to the maker’s own store. Price bands at maker list price: $ under $25 ยท $$ $25โ75 ยท $$$ over $75.
How we chose
We chose these from makers’ specs and our multi-tool coverage, including our one-piece, keychain and pry bar roundups. For this October 2026 page (edited by Brian Hamilton), we checked every tool on its maker’s own site: that it’s still sold, and which parts are titanium, which are steel and which are only coated.
We read the material lines word for word, so a “titanium” color or a titanium nitride coating doesn’t count as titanium. That ruled out a lot.
- Leatherman’s Charge+ TTi page now redirects to the Wave Alpha.
- Three titanium tools from our older roundups are gone from their makers: the Schrade SCTPT, the Bรถker Vox Access Tool and the Tuls Roul.
- Griffin’s 3 in titanium Original and Olight’s titanium Opry 2 were out of stock.
We’ve covered the Griffin and the Gerber Shard in our best one-piece multi-tool roundup. The other picks are new to us, and each card says so.
Best titanium keychain and EDC multi-tools
1. Big Idea Design TPT Slide: Best overall

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs.
The most tool per ounce we found in titanium. The body is Grade 5 titanium (6Al-4V). A stainless steel insert slides out one-handed, and the same slot takes a standard utility razor blade (not included), so the parts that cut and wear are steel, where they belong.
Around that you get a 15-size wrench (SAE 15/64 to 7/16 in, metric 6 to 12 mm), a magnetic 1/4 in hex bit opening, two flat drivers, a mini pry bar, a scraper edge and a bottle opener.
Key specs: 1.0 oz (28 g) ยท 3 ร 1 ร 0.2 in ยท Grade 5 titanium body; stainless insert, 304 stainless screws ยท removable clip, leather sheath ยท lifetime warranty ยท $$$
Pros
- Real Grade 5 titanium, with steel only where it wears
- Wrench, bit holder, drivers and pry tip in 1.0 oz
- Takes standard utility blades
- Lifetime warranty
Cons
- Pricey for a pocket tool
- No bits or blade in the box
- Wrench stops at 7/16 in and 12 mm
Skip it if: you turn bigger nuts (get the Ti EDC Wrench) or want the cheapest real titanium (the War Claw).
2. Griffin Pocket Tool XL Titanium: Best for the most tools

We covered Griffin’s Pocket Tool in our one-piece roundup; we haven’t used the XL in titanium.
One piece of titanium with more functions than anything else here: bottle opener, flat driver, scoring tool, box opener, chisel, knife tip, pry tool, nail puller, 1/4 in bit driver, six wrenches (SAE or metric version), rulers and a pocket clip. Griffin doesn’t state the grade.
When we named Griffin’s Pocket Tool the best one-piece multi-tool, its tools worked pretty well and the long body gave the hex wrenches more torque than smaller tools. The trade-offs: it’s harder to fit next to a knife and a light, and several “tools” are functions of one edge.
Key specs: 33 g (1.2 oz) ยท 4.3 ร 0.9 ร 0.2 in ยท titanium, one piece ยท SAE or metric wrench set ยท knife tip; Griffin says to “grind your blade edge further as desired” ยท $$
Pros
- Most functions of any pick
- One piece: nothing to loosen or lose
- Half the weight of Griffin’s stainless XL
- SAE or metric wrenches
Cons
- Knife tip and box opener mean a checked bag when you fly
- Long for a keychain at 4.3 in
- The edge is yours to sharpen
Skip it if: you want it smaller: the TPT Slide is 3 in. Griffin’s own 3 in titanium Original (14 g) was sold out when we checked.
3. CountyComm Maratac Titan War Claw: Best budget

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs.
Proof that real titanium doesn’t have to cost much. The War Claw is cut from Grade 4 titanium, a commercially pure grade that’s softer than Grade 5, and heat-colored. At 0.35 oz it’s the lightest tool on this page.
It packs a pry tip, flat driver, 1/4 in bit driver, bottle opener, ferro rod scraper and a serrated box-cutter edge. It’s only 0.085 in thick, so treat it as a light-duty pry.
For harder prying, CountyComm’s Maratac Little Jimmy is thicker Grade 5 titanium with a titanium clip and stainless screws, at 1.2 oz and 3.6 in.
Key specs: 0.35 oz ยท 3.5 ร 1.25 ร 0.085 in ยท Grade 4 titanium, one piece ยท bits not included ยท CountyComm 365-day warranty ยท $
Pros
- Real titanium in the same price band as the TiN-coated Shard
- Lightest pick at 0.35 oz
- Takes standard 1/4 in bits
Cons
- Thin, soft grade: light prying only
- Box-cutter edge means a checked bag when you fly
- No clip, and no bits included
Skip it if: you pry hard every day. Get the Lynch bar. More small tools in our best keychain multi-tools.
4. Lynch Northwest All Access Pass v1.9: Best made-in-USA pry bar

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs.
A pry bar, not a gadget: one 4 in bar of Grade 5 (6Al-4V) titanium with a titanium deep-carry clip, machined and finished in Spokane, Washington. Lynch makes it for the jobs “that may break the tip off your knife”, and its lifetime warranty covers damage from intended use, bent clips included.
Lynch also sold the earlier v1.5 bar in both titanium and 3V tool steel at the same size, which gave us one of the clean weight comparisons in the table below.
Stock comes in batches: when we checked, two of six finishes were in stock. Lynch’s Keychain Crow Bar (Grade 5, 2 in, 0.7 oz) was in stock in every finish.
Key specs: 1 oz (28 g) ยท 4 ร 0.9 ร 0.15 in ยท Grade 5 titanium bar and clip ยท made in USA ยท lifetime warranty ยท $$$
Pros
- Made in the USA, no-questions lifetime warranty
- Grade 5 bar and titanium clip
- No blade, so it fits TSA’s carry-on rules
Cons
- Prying only: Lynch lists no drivers or opener
- Most expensive per function
- Sells out between batches
Skip it if: you want several tools in one; get the TPT Slide. More bars in our best EDC pry bars.
5. Big Idea Design Ti EDC Wrench: Best for nuts and bolts

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs.
An adjustable wrench machined from solid Grade 5 titanium, covering 25 sizes from 3/16 to 3/4 in and 5 to 19 mm.
The V2 adds a flat bit driver and stores three double-ended S2 steel bits: Torx T6 and T8, Phillips #0 and #2, and 3/32 and 1/8 in flat. Big Idea doesn’t say whether its 2.4 oz is for the V1 or V2.
Key specs: 2.4 oz (68 g) ยท 3.85 ร 1 ร 0.31 in ยท Grade 5 titanium; V2 bits S2 steel ยท removable clip ยท lifetime warranty ยท $$$
Skip it if: you rarely meet a nut over 7/16 in. The TPT Slide covers the small sizes for less.
6. RovyVon U4 Pro+: Best for your keys

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs.
A titanium unibody carabiner that holds your keys, with a locking screwdriver (two S2 steel bits: Phillips #0 and 3.5 mm slotted, or Torx T6 and T8), a locking #11 scalpel blade with five spares, a can opener and a ruler. Only the carabiner body is titanium. RovyVon doesn’t publish a weight or size.
Key specs: weight and size not published ยท titanium carabiner; S2 steel bits; replaceable #11 steel blade ยท $$
Skip it if: you fly carry-on; the scalpel blade means a checked bag. Steel options are in our best multi-tools with carabiner.
7. Gerber Shard: Best titanium look-alike

Not titanium. Gerber says the Shard “is made of stainless steel with a titanium coating”, a titanium nitride (TiN) layer added “for corrosion resistance”. It’s here because it shows up on “titanium” multi-tool lists, and it’s a good tool for the money.
Our one-piece roundup rated its bottle opener one of the better ones on a one-piece tool. The pry bar is good for popping picture nails out of drywall, and the three drivers handle a range of screws but not really tight ones. Gerber calls it “Airline Safe”.
Key specs: 1.0 oz ยท 3.5 in in Gerber’s spec table (2.75 in in its description) ยท TiN-coated stainless ยท 7 functions ยท limited lifetime warranty ยท $
Skip it if: you want actual titanium. The War Claw sits in the same price band and weighs about a third as much. More in our Gerber Shard review.
Is there a full-size titanium multi-tool?
Not from an established maker right now. We searched the current catalogs of Leatherman, Gerber, Victorinox, Bรถker, CRKT, Roxon, Real Avid and NexTool and found no pliers tool with titanium handles. Roxon’s “Flex Titan” is steel and G10. The closest is an Amazon-first brand.
8. BIBURY 24-in-1 Titanium (2048DT): Best full-size pliers with titanium handles

New in this update. We haven’t used this one ourselves; it’s here on its maker’s specs. BIBURY sells mostly on Amazon.
A 24-function pliers tool with “aerospace-grade titanium alloy” handles and a 7Cr17 stainless knife, per BIBURY’s own store. BIBURY gives no titanium grade. At 8.7 oz it’s heavier than Leatherman’s all-steel Wave+ (8.5 oz), so here titanium buys corrosion resistance and looks, not a lighter tool.
Check the model number. BIBURY’s blue BI2049BL handle is a PVD “blue titanium” coating over 3Cr13 steel, not titanium alloy.
Key specs: 8.7 oz ยท titanium-alloy handles (grade not stated); steel pliers, wire cutters, knife, scissors, saw and bits ยท 24 functions ยท $$
Skip it if: you want proven pliers. The Leatherman Wave+ is lighter, all steel and has a 25-year warranty.
Is there a titanium Leatherman?

Not one you can buy from Leatherman. Its titanium-handled Charge+ TTi page now redirects to the Wave Alpha, which has G10 handles and a MagnaCut blade, and Leatherman’s US store lists no titanium tool (checked October 2026). Retailers may still have leftover Charge+ TTi stock.
The titanium was the handle scales. The tools were steel: an S30V main blade, 420HC and 440C stainless elsewhere, 19 tools at 4 in closed and 8.9 oz, per Leatherman’s last product page (September 2025).
In our review every tool folded out smoothly and locked with no noticeable wiggle. If you find one, our Leatherman Charge+ TTi review has the detail. For a premium Leatherman you can buy new, see our Leatherman ARC review and best premium multi-tools.
Is titanium better than steel for a multi-tool?
For the body of a small tool, yes, if weight and rust matter to you. For anything that cuts, grips or turns a screw, no. That’s why every pick here keeps those parts steel.
- Weight: Grade 5 titanium is 4.43 g/cmยณ; 420 stainless, a common multi-tool steel, is about 7.7. The same shape in titanium is about 42% lighter.
- Corrosion: titanium doesn’t rust, so sweat, salt water and a damp pocket won’t spot it. Stainless resists rust but isn’t immune.
- Hardness: Grade 5 titanium tests around 334 Brinell, roughly 36 on the Rockwell C scale. Leatherman hardens the Wave+ blade to 55โ59 HRC, and Lynch its 3V steel bars to 62โ63.
- Edges and tips: softer metal dulls and rounds sooner. Our one-piece roundup found the titanium Schrade SCTPT’s strap cutter “isn’t as sharp as carbon steel would be”, though it still opened boxes.
The weight saving is real on small tools and tiny on big ones. Two makers sell, or sold, the same designs in both metals, so we can compare like with like.
| Same tool, two metals | Titanium | Steel | Saved | Lighter by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Griffin Pocket Tool XL | 33 g | 65 g (stainless) | 32 g | 49% |
| Griffin Pocket Tool Original | 14 g | 28 g (stainless) | 14 g | 50% |
| Griffin Adventure Tool | 15 g | 25 g (stainless) | 10 g | 40% |
| Lynch Northwest All Access Pass v1.5 | 30 g | 54 g (3V tool steel) | 24 g | 44% |
| Density alone (Grade 5 vs 420 stainless) | 4.43 g/cmยณ | 7.7 g/cmยณ | โ | 42% |
Weights from Griffin’s product pages and Lynch Northwest’s v1.5 titanium and 3V pages (same 4 ร 0.9 ร 0.15 in), October 2026. Densities: Ti-6Al-4V from Kyocera SGS’s data sheet, AISI 420 from MakeItFrom. Lighter by = saved รท steel weight. Hardness: Brinell 334 from the same Kyocera sheet, converted to Rockwell C.
Did you know? On a full-size pliers tool, titanium handles barely move the scale, because the jaws, blades, pivots and liners are steel either way. Leatherman’s titanium-handled Charge+ TTi weighed 252 g (8.9 oz), 11 g more than its all-stainless Wave+ at 241 g (8.5 oz), with one extra tool.
Real titanium, TiN-coated or stainless: what is your tool made of?
We sorted every pick, plus four Leatherman and Gerber benchmarks, by weight and by what the maker says it’s made of.
| Tool | Weight | Maker’s material wording | What it really is |
|---|---|---|---|
| CountyComm Titan War Claw | 0.35 oz | “Grade 4 Titanium” | Solid titanium |
| Gerber Mullet (benchmark) | 0.7 oz | “Stainless Steel” | Stainless steel |
| Big Idea Design TPT Slide | 1.0 oz | “Grade 5 Titanium Alloy (6AL4V)”; insert “Stainless Steel” | Solid titanium body, steel insert |
| Lynch Northwest All Access Pass v1.9 | 1 oz | “Grade 5 (6AL-4V) titanium”; titanium clip | Solid titanium |
| Gerber Shard | 1.0 oz | “stainless steel with a titanium coating” | TiN-coated steel |
| Griffin Pocket Tool XL Titanium | 1.2 oz | “TITANIUM” | Solid titanium |
| Big Idea Design Ti EDC Wrench | 2.4 oz | “Solid Titanium Construction”; bits “S2 Steel” | Solid titanium body, steel bits |
| Leatherman Skeletool (benchmark) | 5 oz | “420 Stainless Steel” frame | Stainless steel |
| Leatherman Wave Alpha (benchmark) | 8.26 oz | G10 scales, 420 stainless frame, MagnaCut blade | Steel with G10 handles |
| Leatherman Wave+ (benchmark) | 8.5 oz | “420 Stainless Steel” frame | Stainless steel |
| BIBURY 24-in-1 (2048DT) | 8.7 oz | “aerospace-grade titanium alloy handle”; 7Cr17 blade | Titanium handles, steel tools |
| Leatherman Charge+ TTi (retired) | 8.9 oz | “Titanium handles”; S30V, 420HC, 440C | Titanium handles, steel tools |
| RovyVon U4 Pro+ | โ | “Titanium unibody carabiner”; “S2-steel” bits | Titanium body, steel tools |
| BIBURY BI2049BL (not a pick) | โ | “Blue Titanium Coating Handle”; PVD; 3Cr13 frame | Coated steel |
Wording and weights from each maker’s product page, October 2026, except the retired Charge+ TTi (Leatherman’s archived page, September 2025). Griffin XL is 33 g. “โ” = not published.
What “titanium” on a label can mean: Grade 5 (6Al-4V, also sold as TC4) is the strong alloy in most good titanium tools. Grades 2 and 4 are commercially pure: softer, and easier to heat-color. “Titanium handles” means titanium scales on a steel tool.
“Titanium nitride”, “TiN”, “PVD” and “titanium coated” all mean a thin coating on steel; the weight and the steel underneath don’t change. Sometimes it’s only a color: KeySmart sells its Rugged key holder in “Titanium” without stating a material, and Lynch offers a 3V steel bar in “Titanium Blue Cerakote”.
The magnet test: a fridge magnet won’t stick to titanium. It does stick to the hardened stainless steel in most tools, so a “titanium” keychain tool that grabs a magnet is coated steel. A few unhardened stainless grades don’t attract magnets either, so no pull isn’t proof of titanium.
Do you need titanium for a lightweight multi-tool?
Usually not. Size matters more than metal. The stainless Gerber Mullet (0.7 oz) is lighter than every titanium pick here except the War Claw, because it’s a smaller tool. For pliers, the light option is less tool, not titanium: Leatherman’s steel Skeletool weighs 5 oz, against 8.7 oz for the titanium-handled BIBURY.
Who doesn’t need titanium: anyone whose tool lives in a glovebox, toolbox or kitchen drawer, or who mostly needs pliers. Pay for titanium when the tool rides on your keys every day, gets wet or salty, or you simply like it. Pack-weight picks are in our best multi-tool for backpacking.
Can you take a titanium multi-tool on a plane?
Titanium changes nothing at the checkpoint. TSA goes by the implements: no knife blade of any length, scissors under 4 in from the pivot, tools 7 in or shorter. Every pick here is under 7 in, and the officer has the final say.
- Carry-on OK per TSA rules: Lynch All Access Pass, Ti EDC Wrench, Gerber Shard (Gerber: “Airline Safe”).
- Ask the officer: TPT Slide with no razor blade fitted. Big Idea calls it “TSA-friendly”.
- Checked bag: War Claw (box-cutter edge), Griffin XL (knife tip, box opener), RovyVon U4 Pro+ (scalpel blade), BIBURY (knife, saw).
TSA’s exact wording for each implement is in our bladeless and TSA-compliant multi-tools guide.